The Regions of the United States

regions of the United States

The United States is HUGE compared to many other countries. In fact, it’s so big that many other countries (UK, France, Germany, etc.) could fit inside Texas, the largest state in the U.S. Because of its vast landscape, it is sometimes easier to look at the USA by the four regions it’s divided into.

The four regions making up the USA are the Northeast, Midwest, South, and West. Each of these areas of the country are known for different climates, cultures, and ways of life.

Northeast Region

The Northeast is the region that sits between the Atlantic Ocean and the Great Lakes. It consists of 11 states: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island and Vermont.

This region of the United States has broad valleys, rolling hills, and low mountains. The Appalachian Mountains stretch from Maine down into the Southeast region of the U.S. Because of its location, the Northeast is known for cold winters and lots of snow. The further north you travel, the more snow you will experience. The summer are warm, but shorter than those in the south.


The Midwest is a flat area of land situated in the upper middle area of the United States. It consists of 12 states: Kansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, and Wisconsin.

The Midwest is known for its fertile soil which makes it possible for farmers to produce abundant harvests of wheat, oats, and corn – earning its name as the nations “breadbasket”. Because of its positioning in the middle of the country, the weather in this region varies dramatically in each state. Summers can be extremely hot while winters are known to fall below freezing.


The South is the lower region of the United States, generally known as south of the Mason and Dixon Line and the Ohio River. The South is home to 17 states: Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, D.C., Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

This natives of this region of the USA are known for their strong sense of pride, as well as their Southern charm. With its positioning close to the equator, the southern region of the country is known for its sunny weather and mild winters.


The western region of the United States is mainly defined as west of the Great Plains. This region is made up of 13 states: Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming.

The western region was the last area of the country to be settled, and is associated in popular American folklore with cowboys and Indians. The western region of the United States stretches across the entire western coast of the country, meaning the climate varies greatly throughout. Parts of the West are desert areas getting less than 5 inches of rain a year, while other areas can get extreme amount of rain and snow.

Download our guide Tips for Living in the United States for more information on the American culture. 


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *